2010-23rd ACPS Annual Meeting and International Symposium

Event Date: 
Fri, 2010-07-30

View Program

The 23rd Association of Chinese Political Studies (ACPS)

Annual Meeting Report

The ACPS annual meeting, held in conjunction with the international symposium entitled China in Search of Sustainable Development, Social Harmony, and Soft Power, was successfully held from July 30 to August 1, 2010 at Endicott College, Beverly, Massachusetts.  Over 50 scholars from the United States, mainland China, Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, India, Russia, United Kingdom, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau attended the three-day event.  The meeting’s more than a dozen panels covered topics such as the Chinese Model, civil society, corruption and good governance, political support and legitimacy, political and economic reform, political economy, public policies, social harmony, China’s relations with the world, and Soft Power.

Professor Gao Xinjun from CCP Central Compilation Bureau delivered a keynote speech on The Status, Causes, Characteristics, and Prospects of China Local Governance Innovation. Dr. Teng Chung-Chien, Dean and Professor of the College of International Affairs, National Chengchi University, Taiwan, presented a dinner talk on the GMD’s mainland China policy and the upcoming mayoral election.
During the official ACPS Annual Business Meeting the evening of June 31, Dr. Baogang Guo gave his outgoing presidential report and thanked Endicott College and its staff for their sponsorship and superb job in hosting the event.  Dr. Yanmin Yu presented the Treasurer’s report.  Dr. Jean-Marc F. Blanchard, the incoming president of the ACPS, gave his inaugural address and presented awards to Dr. Guo and Dr. Yu for their outstanding service to the ACPS.  In recognition of the generous support provided by Dr. Richard Wylie, President of Endicott College, the ACPS made Dr. Wylie an honorable member of the Association.
At the business meeting, Dr. Guo also announced and welcomed four new institutional members including Endicott College, the College of International Affairs of National Chengchi University, the China Center for Strategic Studies, Peking University, and the Contemporary Chinese Politics Research Institute, Shenzhen University.

During the meeting, members elected new president-elect and three new board members. Dr. John Kennedy (University of Kansas) was elected the new president-elect. Dr. Edward Yi Yang (James Madison University) will be the new Treasurer. Dr. Wei Liang (Monterey Institute of International Relations) has become the new Membership Director. Dr. Min Wan will be the new Research Direcotor Dr. Fujia Lu (Endicott College) will assume the role of the Public Relations Director.  We welcome and congratulate these individuals on their new posts!

Submitted by

Baogang Guo, Ph.D.