ACPS Sponored Panels at 2009 APSA Annal Meeting, Toronto, Canada

Event Date: 
Sat, 2009-09-05
 

Association of Chinese Political Studies
Panel 1     China, the United States, and Global Order

 

Date:

Saturday, Sep 5, 8:00 AM

 

Location:

Meeting has passed. Consult Final Program for locations.

Chair:

Brantly Womack
University of Virginia, brantly@gmail.com

Author(s):

China’s Second Ascent and International Relations Theory

James C. Hsiung

New York University, jch2@nyu.edu

 

Understanding the Fallout in Sino-American Relations Over the 1999 Belgrade Embassy Bombing

Gregory J. Moore

Eckerd College, mooregj@eckerd.edu

 

Peaceful Rise, Responsible Stakeholder: A Constructivist Explanation of Improving Sino-American Relations

Ramon Pacheco Pardo

London School of Economics & Political Science, ramon.pacheco@kcl.ac.uk

 

Energy, Environmental, Public Health, and Food Safety Risks in China: Consequences for US-China Relations

Elizabeth Wishnick

Montclair State University, wishnicke@mail.montclair.edu

 

China's Rise and the Challenges of Regulatory Globalization

Dali L. Yang

University of Chicago, daliyang@uchicago.edu

Discussant(s):

Brantly Womack
University of Virginia, brantly@gmail.com
Ja Ian Chong
Princeton University, jchong@princeton.edu

 

Association of Chinese Political Studies
Panel 2     Globalization and the Chinese Regulatory State

 

Date:

Friday, Sep 4, 2:00 PM

 

Location:

Meeting has passed. Consult Final Program for locations.

Chair:

Dali L. Yang
University of Chicago, daliyang@uchicago.edu

Author(s):

Why is the Cost of Regulating China’s Health Sector so High?

Yanzhong Huang

Seton Hall University, yanzhong.huang@shu.edu

 

Regulating China’s Land Market: Central-Local Incentives and Institutional Evolution

Fubing Su

Vassar College, FuSu@vassar.edu

 

Independence and Mother-in-Laws: the Effect of MOCA Regulations on Civil Society Autonomy in China.

Jessica C. Teets

University of Colorado, jteets@middlebury.edu

 

The Regulatory State under Market-Leninism: Telecoms Reform in China and Vietnam

Yukyung Yeo

City University of Hong Kong, y.yeo@cityu.edu.hk

 

Regulating Food Safety Risk in China: A Historical-Comparative Analysis

Peng Liu

Renmin University of China, liupeng1031@gmail.com

Discussant(s):

Xiaobo Hu
Clemson University, xhu@clemson.edu
Fengshi Wu
Chinese University of Hong Kong, wufengshi@cuhk.edu.hk