ACPS Sponored Panels at 2010 APSA Annal Meeting, Washington, DC

Event Date: 
Thu, 2010-09-02
 

Association of Chinese Political Studies
Panel 1     China and the Great Recession

Date:

Thursday, Sep 2, 2010, 2:00 PM-3:45 PM

 

   

Chair:

Dali L. Yang
University of Chicago, daliyang@uchicago.edu

Author(s):

Slowdown in the World’s Workshop? Chinese Labor in the Great Recession

William Hurst

University of Texas, Austin, whurst@austin.utexas.edu

 

Learning from the Great Recession: Adjustments to China's Export-Led Model of Economic Development

Albert S. Yee

Dartmouth College

 

Eying the Crippled Hegemon: China’s Grand Strategy Thinking in the Wake of the Global Financial Crisis

Dong Wang

Peking University, wdong@pku.edu.cn

 

Great Recession, Great Reunion: China’s ‘One Country’ Press in Hong Kong & Taiwan

Daniel Garrett

National Defense Intelligence College, dan.garrett97@gmail.com

Discussant(s):

Dali L. Yang
University of Chicago, daliyang@uchicago.edu
Pierre F. Landry
Yale University, pierre.landry@gmail.com

 

Association of Chinese Political Studies
Panel 2     Change and Stability in Chinese Politics

Date:

Saturday, Sep 4, 2010, 4:15 PM-6:00 PM

 

   

Chair:

Dorothy J. Solinger
University of California, Irvine, dorjsoli@uci.edu

Author(s):

Transparent Authoritarianism?

Peter L. Lorentzen

University of California, Berkeley, lorentzen@berkeley.edu

 

Professsionalism, Institutionalism, and Party Control-- Reforms of Legislative Committees in China

Chien-min Chao

National Chengchi University, emchao@nccu.edu.tw

    Chun-Chih Chang

    National Chengchi University, 95260505@nccu.edu.tw

 

Beyond Capitalism: Chinese Discourse on Social Democracy

He Li

Merrimack College, he.li@merrimack.edu

 

China's Reaction to the Colored Revolutions: Adaptive Authoritarianism in Full Swing

Titus C. Chen

University of Southern California, CHENTITUS@GMAIL.COM

Discussant(s):

Dorothy J. Solinger
University of California, Irvine, dorjsoli@uci.edu
Yukyung Yeo
City University of Hong Kong, y.yeo@cityu.edu.hk